Just Search page

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has eight members. Under the Law and Justice Foundation Act 2000, the Attorney General appoints seven Governors to the Law and Justice Foundation Board. There is currently one vacant position.
The eighth member is the current Director of the Foundation. As per the Act, one member is nominated by the Leader of the Opposition of the Legislative Assembly. Appointments are usually for three years and one of the Governors is appointed as Chair of the Board.

The Hon. Paul Stein AM QC, LLB, LLM
Paul is the Chair of the Law and Justice Foundation Board of Governors. He became a judge in 1983 and was appointed to the Land and Environment Court in 1985. In 1997, he was appointed to the Court of Appeal where he remained until his retirement in 2004. He has undertaken a number of reports and reviews for the government, and is the former chair of the Board of the Environment Protection Authority. He has chaired committees and associations, in particular the Council of the Community Justice Centres and the National Consumer Affairs Advisory Council. He has written numerous articles and papers on environmental, administrative and consumer law, as well as on human rights and discrimination.

Jason Behrendt LLB, BA, LLM
Jason is the Managing Director of Chalk & Behrendt. For the last 20 years he has advised Aboriginal corporations and land councils in relation to land rights, native title and Commonwealth and state environmental legislation. He is currently the Chair of the Indigenous Issues Committee at the Law Society of NSW and a member of the Indigenous Legal Issues Committee of the Law Council of Australia.

Coralie Kenny, LLB BEco and GAICD, Master of Applied Law
Coralie has practised as a senior in-house financial services lawyer in wealth management for large organisations for more than 15 years, joining Suncorp in May 2011. She is a Councillor of the NSW Law Society representing in-house practitioners, chairs their Office of State Revenue Liaison Committee, is a member of a number of their other committees and represents the Society on the board of the Public Interest Advocacy Centre Limited.

Geoff Mulherin CSC, BSc (Hons), LLB (Hons), MBA, GDip Def S
Director of the Foundation since November 2000.

The Hon. Kevin Rozzoli, DipL, DLit
Kevin is the chair of the Foundation’s Investment Sub-Committee. He was the member for the New South Wales electorate of Hawkesbury from 1973 until his retirement from politics in 2003, and from 1988 to 1995 was the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. Kevin was admitted to the New South Wales bar in 1985. He is on the board of a number of not-for-profit organisations including the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, Environmental Defenders Office, the Medical Advances Without Animals Trust and for the past 30 years has been chair of the Haymarket Foundation.

John Sheahan QC, BA, LLB (Hons)
John has been in practice at the bar since 1985, and appointed as senior counsel in 1997. His principal areas of practice are corporate law, competition, and banking and finance.. He is a past president of the Public Interest Law Clearing House (now, Justice Connect) and currently a member of the board of the Haymarket Foundation. In 2014 he was appointed to the Takeovers Panel.

Professor Julie Stubbs
Julie is a criminologist and Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of NSW. She was previously Professor of Criminology at the University of Sydney, where she had been Director of the Institute of Criminology. Before becoming an academic, Julie was a senior researcher with the NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research.