ContentJust Search pageLJF site navigationLeft navigation links
LJF Logo
Research sectionPublications sectionGrants sectionPlain language law sectionJustice Awards sectionNetworks section
Just Search

2009 Justice Awards

The 2009 Justice Awards were presented at Parliament House, Sydney on 1 October 2009 and the 2009 Law and Justice Address was delivered by The Hon. Murray Gleeson AC.

Justice Medal

Winner - Dr Eileen Baldry
Dr Eileen Baldry, academic and activist, was awarded the Justice Medal for her major contribution, over many years to improving access to justice for prisoners and people in the criminal justice system with mental disorders and cognitive disabilities. Her work informed government policy development and she is generous in sharing her knowledge and time, and indefatigable in her support of many justice-related committees and causes.

  • Lyn Alcock
  • Dr Eileen Baldry
  • Richard Brading
  • Father Jim Carty
  • Karen Cox
  • Prue Gregory
  • Paul Jacob
  • Susan Laguna
  • Maree Livermore
  • Ken Marslew AM
  • Rachael Martin
  • Dr Chandrika Subramaniam

Aboriginal Justice Award

Winner - Circle Sentencing, Nowra Local Court
The 12 Aboriginal elders and community representatives of the Nowra Circle Sentencing group received the Award for contributing their cultural knowledge and wisdom to the successful pilot of circle sentencing in Nowra, through which better understanding and respect between the court and community is building.

  • Bobbi Cattermole
  • Circle Sentencing, Nowra Local Court
  • Lyn Larkins
  • Gail (Patricia) Ling
  • Colleen Murray
  • Barbara Nicholson
  • Nancy Walke
  • Ken Zulumovski

Pro Bono Partnership Award

Winners - Salvation Army Auburn with Mills Oakley Lawyers
This partnership resulted in the establishment of Courtyard Legal, which provides full-time representation for marginalised people in refugee cases, criminal law proceedings, parenting disputes, Centrelink matters and other court/tribunal cases.

  • Blacktown Police and Community Youth Club with Benjamin & Leonardo Criminal Defence Lawyers
  • Women's Legal Services NSW with Blake Dawson, Clayton Utz, Freehills, NSW Bar Association and the Officer of the Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Mission Australia with Freehills
  • Australia Red Cross with Mallesons Stephen Jaques
  • Salvation Army Auburn with Mills Oakley Lawyers

Law and Justice Volunteer Award

Winner - Southern Women's Group
The group received the Award for their 20 years of achievement in supporting and assisting women, particularly women dealing with domestic violence issues. They have helped women by providing them with referrals, advocacy, information and housing, and they operate a court support scheme.

  • Foundation Management Committee, Bridge for Asylum Seekers
  • Administrative Volunteers, Immigration Advice & Rights Centre
  • Terri King
  • Steven Miller
  • Southern Women's Group
  • Volunteer Mentors, Start Again Mentoring Program (StAMP)

Law Society President's Award

Winner - Oleh Suchowersky

Community Legal Centres NSW Award

Winners - Women's Legal Services, Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre and Hawkesbury Nepean Community Legal Centre for the Legal Education and Advice in Prison for Women Project

LIAC Centre of Excellence Award

Winners - Auburn City Library and Coffs Harbour City Library