ContentJust Search pageLJF site navigationLeft navigation links
LJF Logo
Research sectionPublications sectionGrants sectionPlain language law sectionJustice Awards sectionNetworks section
Just Search

2010 Justice Awards

The 2010 Justice Awards were presented at Parliament House, Sydney on 14 October 2010 and the 2010 Law and Justice Address was delivered by The Hon. Susan Ryan AO.

Justice Medal

Winner - Rachael Martin
Rachael was awarded the Justice Medal for her work as the Principal Solicitor at Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre for over 10 years. In this time she has helped many Aboriginal women and children to better access legal and support services, particularly in relation to domestic violence and victim’s compensation. She has worked closely with the community legal sector and government bodies over many years to influence law reform and policy development.

  • Josie Gregory
  • Kerry Cassells
  • Yanfang (Fiona) Zhou
  • Catherine Peek
  • Father Chris Riley
  • Meredith Osborne
  • Chris Hartley
  • Rachael Martin
  • Jenny Bargen
  • Cathy Want

Aboriginal Justice Award

Revocation of award - Roy "Dootch" Kennedy
Read Media Release issued on 8 December 2015.

  • Mount Druitt Aboriginal Community Justice Group
  • Kristine Braddick, Michele Wellington, Donna Castagna, Bianca Perry and Angela Lonesborough from Waminda Women's Health and Welfare Aboriginal Corporation
  • Roy 'Dootch' Kennedy
  • Colin Gale
  • Gerry Moore
  • Jill Jessop
  • Paul Teerman

Pro Bono Partnership Award

Winners - Blake Dawson and Lou's Place The long-standing partnership provides legal assistance to women in the heart of Kings Cross. Many of the women assisted through the partnership are homeless, live in local refuges and are often at a crisis point in their life.

  • Wauchope Neighbourhood Centre with JM Glass Solicitors
  • Wyong Neighbourhood Centre with Gilbert + Tobin
  • Sydney Domestic Violence Court Advocacy Service with Gilbert + Tobin
  • Lou's Place with Blake Dawson
  • Sydney Women's Counselling Service with Adams and Partners
  • Homeless Person's Legal Service with their 20+ partners
  • Nambucca Heads Local Aboriginal Land Council and Unkya Local Aboriginal Land Council with Allens Arthur Robinson
  • CLSD Program — Central and Far West Regions with Blake Dawson

Law and Justice Volunteer Award

Winner - Estrella McKinnon Estrella received the award in recognition of her dedication to improving access to justice in the Illawarra community for over 25 years. Estrella has assisted victims of domestic violence with support and referrals, and worked with perpetrators to prevent recidivism. She has worked to empower culturally and linguistically diverse communities, particularly new arrivals to Australia, and volunteered many hours towards fundraising for local multicultural organisations.

  • Colleen Pearsall & Dorothy Burns — Volunteers in Policing (VIP) at Grafton
  • Jill Edmonds
  • Estrella McKinnon
  • David Peachey, Nathan Merritt, Beau Champion, Chris Sandow, Jaiman Lowe, Rhys Wesser from Souths Cares
  • Vicki Geraghty

Law Society President's Award

Winner: Ern Phang

Community Legal Centres NSW Award

Winner: Homeless Person's Legal Service for Street Care

LIAC Centre of Excellence Awards

Winners: Singleton Upper-Clarence Regional Library and Singleton Public Library